Click to Home
Go To Search
RSSPrintEmailFacebookTwitter
Online Exemption Programs

**NEW** Tax exemption holders may now use their exemption when renewing their DMV registrations online.  Click Here to go to MY DMV.

Exemption Programs
The Nevada Legislature provides for property tax exemptions to Nevada residents meeting certain requirements. Exemption forms available for download must be supported by Adobe Reader: 

 Benefits and eligibility requirements are as follows:

SURVIVING SPOUSE'S EXEMPTION (NRS 361.080) The Surviving Spouse Exemption is in the amount of $1,160 assessed value. To apply for this exemption you must:

  • Possess a valid Nevada Driver's License or Identification Card
  • Provide a copy of your spouse's death certificate 

VETERAN'S EXEMPTION (NRS 361.090) The Veteran's exemption is in the amount of $2,320 assessed value. It applies to residents who have served in the Armed Forces of the United States. A veteran must have served a minimum of 90 continuous days of active duty of which at least one day was between:

  • April 21, 1898 and June 13, 1903
  • April 6, 1917 and November 11, 1918
  • December 7, 1941 and December 31, 1946
  • June 25, 1950 and May 7, 1975
  • September 26, 1982 and December 1, 1987
  • October 23, 1983 and November 21, 1983
  • December 20, 1989 and January 31, 1990
  • August 2, 1990 and April 11, 1991
  • December 5, 1992 and March 31, 1994
  • November 20, 1995 and December 20, 1996

Also eligible are veterans who served on active duty in connection with carrying out the authorization granted to the President of the United States in Public Law 102-1 or served on active duty in connection with a campaign or expedition for service in which a medal has been authorized by the government of the United States. To apply for this exemption you must:

  • Possess a valid Nevada Driver's License or Identification Card
  • Provide the Assessor's Office with a copy of your DD214, honorable discharge paper, certificate of satisfactory service or separation documents (which indicates your date of entry and honorable discharge date).
  • Provide a copy of your Leave and Earnings Statement, showing Nevada as your home of record, if you are on active duty.

To determine whether a person served in connection with Public Law 102-1 as it pertains to the Gulf War or Desert Storm, or in connection with a campaign or expedition for service in which a medal has been authorized by the United States, the Assessor's Office needs ONE of the following documents in addition to the requirements above:

  • A DD214 showing the dates of service and indication of connection to Desert Storm or a campaign or expedition such as an authorized Medal.
  • Orders or commendations from your records that specifically indicate your duties were performed in support of the Gulf War or a campaign or expedition.
  • A written statement from the military that you performed duties to support the Gulf War or a campaign or expedition.
  • An affidavit in the form of a written, signed letter by you explaining in detail the assignments you personally performed in support of the Gulf War or a campaign or expedition.

DISABLED VETERAN'S EXEMPTION (NRS 361.091) The Disabled Veteran's Exemption is provided for veterans who have a permanent service-connected disability of at least 60%. The amount of exemption is dependent upon the degree of disability incurred. The permanently disabled veteran with a 60% to 100% disability receives the exemption which ranges from $11,600 to a maximum of $23,200 assessed value.
To apply for the Disabled Veteran's Exemption you must: 

  • Possess a valid Nevada Driver's License or Identification Card
  • Provide the Assessor's Office with a copy of your DD214, honorable discharge paper, certificate of satisfactory service or separation documents (which indicate your date of entry and honorable discharge date).
  • Provide documentation of the percentage of permanent service-connected disability from the Veteran's Administration or from the Armed Forces of the United States.
  • The benefits of this program may succeed to the surviving spouse of the disabled veteran who was eligible for the exemption at the time of death.

 BLIND EXEMPTION (NRS 361.085) The Blind Exemption is in the amount of $3,480 assessed value. It is available to Nevada residents whose visual acuity with correcting lenses does not exceed 20/200 in the better eye, or whose vision in the better eye is restricted to a field which subtends an angle of not greater than 20 degrees.
To apply for the Blind Exemption you must:

  • Possess a valid Nevada Driver's License or Identification Card
  • Furnish to the Assessor's Office a certificate from a licensed physician, stating that you meet the qualifications to be considered legally blind under NRS 361.085.